Academic Framework

The Dehong curriculum consists of three interconnected, supporting strands:

  1. The 9-year compulsory years curriculum of the People’s Republic of China.

  2. A holistic, inquiry and skills-based curriculum.

  3. Dehong’s sister schools difference, a high-quality holistic education.

The teaching content of Elementary and Middle School follows the Chinese National Curriculum, with overall 50% through the medium of Chinese and 50% through the medium of English. We are also using inquiry-based learning and interdisciplinary studies for the extended programme including STEAM, SE21, service, sustainability, and cultural activities which is designed to enrich and deepen students’ learning about themselves, culture, and the world around them.

Elementary School image

Elementary School

Elementary School includes Grade 1 to 5 (ages 6 to 11) and encourages students to discover, question and explore. Individual characters are developed whilst cultivating empathy.
Middle School image

Middle School

Middle School includes Grade 6 to 9 (ages 11 to 15) and offers a national standard curriculum enhanced with an international education philosophy and approach.
High School image

High School

High School includes Grade 10 to 12 (ages 15 to 18) offering an international high school course customised for Dehong students to prepare them for world-leading universities.